Each year, the Vermont Chamber of Commerce honors an outstanding Vermonter as the “Citizen of the Year.” This award is presented to the individual who has made major contributions to the betterment of Vermont; has been distinguished through outstanding service to their community and region; and typifies the true spirit of service and self-sacrifice in representing the finest ideals of Vermont citizenship.


This award is presented to the individual who:

  • Has made major contributions to the betterment of Vermont;
  • Has a distinguished record of service to their community or our state; and
  • Embodies the spirit of Vermont through collaboration and a commitment to the common good.

Submit your nomination, here

2023 – The Leahy Celebration

2022 – Cancelled due to COVID

2021 – Cancelled due to COVID

2020 – Cancelled due to COVID

2019 – Al Gobeille, Gobeille Hospitality Group, Burlington

2018 – Leo O’Brien Jr. and Daniel J. O’Brien, O’Brien Brothers, South Burlington

2017 – Richard W. Schneider, RADM (USCGR) RET., President, Norwich University, Northfield

2016 – William Stritzler, Smugglers’ Notch Resort, Jeffersonville

2015 – Janette Bombardier, IBM/GLOBALFOUNDRIES, Essex Junction

2014 – Stephen C. Terry, Vermont Citizen, Middlebury

2013 – U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy, United States Senate, Middlesex

2012 – Antonio Pomerleau, Pomerleau Real Estate, Burlington

2011 – Bill Stenger, Jay Peak Resort, Jay

2010 – Governor James H. Douglas, Governor of Vermont, Middlebury

2009 – Ed Colodny, University of Vermont and Fletcher Allen Health Care, Burlington

2008 – Robert Miller, REM Development Corp.

2007 – Kenley D. Squier, RadioVermont, Waterbury

2006 – R. Allan Paul, Co-Founder, Paul Frank + Collins, P.C., Burlington

2005 – U.S. Senator James M. Jeffords, United States Senate, Shrewsbury

2004 – Stephan A. Morse, CEO, Windham Foundation, Grafton

2003 – David R. Coates, EVP & CFO, New England Culinary Institute, Colchester

2002 – The Honorable Barbara W. Snelling, Shelburne

2001 – Diane P. Mueller, Co-Owner and Executive Vice President, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow

2000 – Francis G.W. Voigt, President & CEO, New England Culinary Institute, Montpelier

1999 – Graham Newell, Latin Instructor, St. Johnsbury Academy

1998 – Robert G. Clarke, President, Vermont Technical College, Randolph

1997 – John T. Ewing, Chair, Vermont State Environmental Board

1996 – Thomas P. Salmon, President of UVM, former Governor of Vermont, Bellows Falls

1995 – Luther “Fred” Hackett, President Hackett Valine & MacDonald, South Burlington

1994 – Martha H. O’Connor, Chair of the State Board of Education, Brattleboro

1993 – Arthur Gibb, Member, State Environmental Board and Former Legislator, Middlebury

1992 – Frederic H. Bertrand, Chairman of the Board & CEO, National Life of Vermont, Montpelier

1991 – Governor Richard A. Snelling, Governor of Vermont, Shelburne

1990 – State Senator Robert T. Gannett, Vermont State Senate, Brattleboro

1989 – U.S. Senator Robert T. Stafford, United States Senate, Rutland

1988 – Henry M. Carris, Carris Reels, Rutland

1987 – Maynard McLaughlin, President Bread Loaf Construction, Middlebury

1986 – Robert W. Mitchell, Publisher, Rutland Daily Herald, Rutland

1985 – Sister Elizabeth Candon, former Secretary of Human Services & President of Trinity College, Burlington

1984 – Louise Swainbank, Former Member Vermont House of Representatives, St. Johnsbury

1983 – Judge Sterry R. Waterman, U.S. District Court, St. Johnsbury

1982 – Hilton A. Wick, President, Chittenden Trust Company, Burlington

1981 – Robert E. Boardman, Treasurer, Hickok & Boardman, Burlington

1980 – Ralph Nading Hill, Senior Editor, Vermont Life Magazine

1979 – J. Wayne Corbeil, General Manager, Raymond S. Roberts Inc.

1978 – Perry Merrill, Commissioner, Vermont Dept. Forest & Parks, Montpelier

1977 William M. Lockwood, Chairman of the Board, Howard Bank, Burlington

1976 – Sheldon Dimick, President, Randolph National Bank, Randolph

1975 – State Senator Keith Wallace, Vermont Senate & President Vermont Farm Bureau, Waterbury

1974 – Madelyn Davidson, Commissioner, Vermont Dept. Employment Security, Montpelier

1973 – Elmer L. Premo, Owner, Redwood Master Hosts Motel, Burlington

1972 – Governor Deane C. Davis, Governor of Vermont, Montpelier

1971 – Bishop Robert F. Joyce, Bishop of Burlington Diocese, Burlington

1970 – Maurice Kelley, Kelley Construction Co., Barre

1969 – C. Douglas Cairns, President, Champlain Oil Co., Burlington

1968 – W. Arthur Simpson, Former Member Vermont House of Representatives, Lyndonville

1967 Elbert G. Moulton, Commissioner, Vermont Development Department, Montpelier

1966 – U.S. Senator George D. Aiken, United States Senate, Putney

1965 – Sepp Ruschp, President, Mt. Mansfield Corp., Stowe

1964 – Albert A. Cree, Chairman & CEO, Central Vermont Public Service Corp., Rutland


May, 2024


To Be Announced


To Be Announced



If you have any questions about the event, please email Ellie Schabel, Director of Events and Business Education.